How do I make Outlook 2007 leave a copy of my messages on the server? Print

  • 12

With Microsoft Outlook 2007, it's possible to leave a copy of each message on the mail server after you read it.

 

You'll want to do this if you read e-mail in Outlook and another program (or our Webmail system). If you don't do this, Outlook will delete the message copy from our servers as soon as it connects, and the other program (or Webmail, or other device such as a Blackberry or iPhone) won't be able to see the messages later.

 

This page explains how to set up Outlook to leave a copy of each message on the server. It assumes that you have already followed the basic instructions to set up Outlook 2007.

 

Changing the Outlook settings

To leave messages on the server, you will:

  • Open the Advanced settings window for your mail account
  • Check the "Leave a copy of messages on the server" checkbox


1. Start the Microsoft Outlook program.

You can use the Start menu to start Outlook. When it opens, click Tools, then Accounts Settings from the menu bar:


2. Select the account to change.

Highlight the account you want to change, then click Change to open the settings window.

 

Change Email Account Window

3. The "Change E-mail Account" window opens.

The screen should look something like this:

 

Basic Settings Screen Outlook 2007

4. Open the Advanced settings screen.

Click the "More Settings" button, then choose the "Advanced" tab.

In the "Advanced" tab, check the Leave a copy of messages on the server checkbox.


You can also uncheck the Remove from server after X days checkbox completely — but if you leave messages on the server forever, it can eventually slow down your mail connections and use up your disk space allowance. So we recommend choosing a number of days that’s long enough that you’ll be able to read the messages in your other mail program (or Webmail). In terms of performance, even using a large number such as 365 days is better than not checking this box.

If you check Remove from server when deleted from 'Deleted Items', the messages will be deleted when you delete them in Outlook. This may be useful if you’re trying to keep your Webmail box (sort-of) in sync with Outlook without using IMAP, but you shouldn’t choose it if you’re leaving messages on our servers to be backed up.


 

Check the Leave a copy of Email on the Server

5. Close the settings windows.

Click OK to close the "Internet E-mail Settings" window.

The "Change E-mail Account" screen will then be visible. Click Next, then Finish.

Outlook setup is complete

You're finished! From now on, any mail that arrives should stay on the server, and you should be able to see it in your other mail program, other computer, Webmail or on your other device, such as a Blackberry or iPhone. (If you're using another mail program, you'll probably want to setup that program to leave a copy of your messages on the server, too.)


Was this answer helpful?

« Back